Lamar State College Orange Recognize Student Academic Achievement at Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony

May 5, 2016

On Friday evening, April 29th, The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society welcomed over 30 new members for the spring 2016 semester. The Induction Ceremony was held in the LSC-O Student Center gym. Eighteen inductees and over 40 additional guests attended, as well as Phi Theta Kappa officers and advisors.

Dallas Moreau, LPC and LSC-O Instructor of Psychology and Learning Frameworks courses, gave the keynote address. Amanda Smith, Phi Theta Kappa Advisor, presented Mr. Moreau with an honorary member certificate.

Phi Theta Kappa Chapter officers played key roles during the event. Jacob Sallies, VP of Membership, greeted inductees and their guests at the door. During the ceremony, Karissa Kordish, Executive VP lit a candle,representing the flame of knowledge and wisdom, for each inductee. Hannah Faulk, Public Relations Officer, distributed white roses, symbolizing purity and intellectual friendships. Dee Simon, Chapter President, led inductees in the oath of membership. Tami Shafer, Recording Secretary, presided as new members signed the official membership role.

Elizabeth Pressler, Phi Theta Kappa Advisor, recognized two inductees, Nacona Holland and Nicholas Jackson, who submitted essays and were selected to receive Alpha Nu Gamma’s New Member Scholarship, which pays the students’ membership fees.

Following the ceremony, inductees and guests enjoyed a reception that included hors d'oeuvre, cake, and punch. Punch was provided by Ms. Amy Brister, LSC-O Academic Advisor.

The Alpha Nu Gamma chapter offers sincere thanks to LSC-O’s Student Government Association and Maria Garcia, Coordinator of Student Activities, for providing event set up services.

LSC-O students become eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership once they have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and earned an institutional GPA of 3.5 or better during their last five years of enrollment. Attendance at the induction ceremony is not a condition of membership.

The benefits of Phi Theta Kappa membership include recognition of academic achievement, as well as opportunities to apply for scholarships and participate in service projects and leadership development programming.

New Phi Theta Kappa members include the following:

BEAUMONT, TX: Kelly Wyatt

BRIDGE CITY, TX: Ping Fan, Joseph Lopez

BUNA, TX: Jared Forman

EAVADALE, TX: Ashley Townsend

LAKE CHARLES, LA: Anita Andrus, Rebekka Boyd

LUMBERTON, TX: Charlea Adams

MAURICEVILLE, TX: Nacona Holland

NEDERLAND, TX: Amanda McCorkle

ORANGE, TX: Nacona Bloom, Brooke Brister, Leanna Broussard, Anisa Fatima, Iqra Fatima, Nicholas Jackson, Chelsea Legate, Kai Thompson, Tania Webb, Janna West

PORT ARTHUR, TX: Johnique Rodriquez

SILSBEE, TX: Michaela Lewis

SPURGER, TX: Abby Anderson

SULPHUR, LA: Kaili Peloquin

VIDOR, TX: Sunny Breland, Rebekah Bullock, Lauren Chamberlain, Peter Connolly, Taylor Stinnett

VINTON, LA: Alyssa Kurtz, Sheqilla Sterling, Teri Walter

Next Steps