New Members Inducted to PTK Honor Society

April 30, 2018

PTK New Members

More than 30 Lamar State College – Orange students were recently inducted into the Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters across the globe.

To be eligible for membership, students must have completed at least 12 hours of college-level coursework with an institutional GPA of 3.5 or better, earned within their last five years of enrollment at LSC-O.

The new inductees for Spring 2018 are:
Griffin Batchelor, Claire Breaux, Brandon Burns, Jan Callahan, Victoria Crosson, Carlie Fults, Kimberly Gann, Abby Gautreaux, Mariajose Gonzales, Elizabeth Guillot, Matthew Gunter, Cruz Hernandez, Quentin Holbert, Haleigh Hutchison, Anita Jones, Darlea Knox, Boyce Laqua, Jeremiah Leger, Katherine Marlor, Dylan Miller, Cynthia Newland, Joel Placette, Brianna Rice, Ashley Root, Gabrielle Smith, Mary Smith, Aimee Sonnier, Katie Stephenson, Jaylene Street, Ashlyn Taylor, Rachel Taylor, and Cord Tucker.

Phi Theta Kappa Officers

Gina Simar, Dean of Health Sciences and Workforce Technology, was the guest speaker at the ceremony and new officers were named for LSC-O’s Alpha Nu Gamma chapter.

The new officers are: Candace Knowles, President; Catherine Seppi, Executive Vice President; Amber Randall, Vice President of Membership; Margie Stuber, Recording Secretary; Erica Heno, Treasurer; and Ashley Taylor Will, Public Relations Officer.

Member Keleigh Dempsey was recognized as a graduating officer. Keleigh previously held the position of Executive Vice President of the chapter.

The ceremony was held Friday, April 27, 2018 in the Cypress Center at Lamar State College – Orange.

Elizabeth Pressler and Amanda Smith are the advisors for the Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at LSC-O.

Next Steps