Lamar State College - Orange Recognizes Students' Academic Achievement at Honor Society Induction Ceremony

December 13, 2017

PTK Induction

The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Lamar State College - Orange inducted 24 new members for the Fall 2017 semester. The ceremony was held Friday, December 8 at LSC-O’s new Cypress Center.

Chapter President Melanie Lee welcomed inductees and their guests. Public Relations Officer Ashley DuBose provided a brief slideshow introducing the honor society’s meaning, mission, and purpose. Advisor Elizabeth Pressler introduced the guest speaker, Donald Thomas, LSC-O Instructor of Physical Education and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Emeritus. Thomas served as primary Advisor for the Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter from 1997 to 2014.

Lee presided over the ceremony and led inductees in reciting the oath of membership. For each inductee, executive Vice President Keleigh Dempsey and former Recording Secretary Tami Shafer lit a candle representing the light of wisdom and bestowed a white rose symbolizing the purity and beauty of life.

Before closing the ceremony, Advisor Amanda Smith recognized graduating officers Lee and Shafer, presenting each with a medal in honor of their leadership and service. In addition, Public Relations Officer Ashley Dubose recognized Treasurer Catherine Seppi as a Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar. Seppi is one of only 207 Phi Theta Kappa members for 2017 to receive this award, which carries a $1,000 scholarship.

LSC-O students become eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership once they have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and earned an institutional GPA of 3.5 or better during their last five years of enrollment.

The benefits of Phi Theta Kappa membership include recognition of academic achievement, as well as opportunities to apply for scholarships and participate in service projects and leadership development programming.

New Phi Theta Kappa members include the following:

BEAUMONT:  Traci Lejeune, Margaret Thompson

BRIDGE CITY:  Shelby McClanahan

KIRBYVILLE: Jessica Ripka

LAKE CHARLES, LA: Celena Avery

LUMBERTON: Bradley Bennett

NEDERLAND:  Margie Stuber

ORANGE:  Nakevia Allensworth, Abigail Blowers, Tabitha Boykin, Erick Cortez, Emily Erb, Aimee McNeil, Daniel Perkins, Rebecca Prevost, Amber Randall

PORT NECHES: Whitney Bowie, Cory Cluelow

SULPHER, LA: Erica Heno

VIDOR:   Brenda Ceron, Angela Leger, Justin Scholl

WARREN:   Shandola Langham

WINNIE: Brandi Briere

Next Steps