Class A Commercial Truck Driving Program
With the expansion of the local industry and the resources needed for growth, there is a significant demand for individuals with a Class A Commercial Driver’s License. Lamar State College Orange offers a six-week training program designed to “Get Your Future in Gear”.
Class Schedule - Day Classes
January 19, 2021 - February 26, 2021
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (6-weeks)
Class Schedule - Night Classes
January 19, 2021 - April 29, 2021
Monday - Thursday 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. (15-weeks)
Applicants to the Lamar State College Orange Commercial Truck Driving program must:
- Be at least 18 years of age for intrastate or 21 years of age for interstate and pass a mandatory DOT drug test and DOT Physical.
- Be in reasonably good physical condition and have no serious physical handicaps. Must not be under doctor’s care with work limitations hindering his/her ability to complete assigned classwork. (For guidelines, please read the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations & Noise Emission Requirements, Chapter III – Federal Highway Administration, Department of Transportation – Subpart E - Physical Qualifications and Examinations – 391.41).
- Read and speak the basic English language to converse with the general public and make entries on reports and records.
- Possess a valid Texas Driver’s License.
- Possess a valid Social Security number.
- Provide an original or certified copy of birth certificate. (Required for DPS)
- Legally able to travel throughout the state of Texas.
- Provide a 3-Year Driving Record (Payable to Texas DPS): $6.00- $8.00 (average) https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm
- Possess a Class A Driver Permit (Payable to Texas Dept. of Public Safety): $25.00
Each student will receive approximately 200 miles of actual behind-the-wheel driving while pulling empty and/or loaded trailers. Truck maintenance and safety, Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, and driving courtesy are covered.
Students will learn the safe operation and compliance with the law in various maneuvers of a commercial vehicle in different traffic situations; operate a tractor-trailer combination, and maneuver the vehicle safely frontward and backward around various obstacles. The first two weeks of training are in the classroom followed by four weeks of both classroom and behind-the-wheel training.
Control and safely maneuver the vehicle in various traffic situations; and safely back an articulated combination into and through various obstacles.
Length Of Course
Class A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) consists of 240 hours of instruction over a six-week period covering general truck driving skills with the hands-on component. Depending on the student's progress, additional time may be recommended for an additional cost. CVOP 1013 and CVOP 1040 are taught concurrently as one program. Students planning to withdraw from the program must withdraw prior to the course starting, as there are no refunds after the class starts.
CVOP 1013 – Professional Truck Driver I General truck driving with hands-on skill development and instruction coordinated with the Department of Transportation. The student will demonstrate the safe operation and compliance with the law in various maneuvers of a commercial vehicle in different traffic situations; operate a tractor- trailer combination; and maneuver the vehicle safely frontward and backward around various obstacles. This course has a total of 120 clock hours which will consist of approximately forty (40) hours of classroom lecture and demonstration along with approximately eighty (80) hours of actual hands-on-tractor-trailer operation.
CVOP 1040 – Professional Truck Driver II This course is a continuation of Professional Truck Driver I. General truck driving with hands-on skill development and instruction coordinated with the Department of Transportation. Instruction in the operation of a tractor-trailer combination in city and highway conditions; including control and maneuvering of the vehicle through various traffic situations in different weather conditions with numerous tractor-trailer combinations. This course has a total of 120 clock hours, which will consist of approximately forty (40) hours of classroom lecture and demonstration and approximately eighty (80) hours of actual hands-on tractor-trailer operation. A short trip will be taken; usually to Beaumont, Texas and another longer trip may be taken as time permits. Corequisite: CVOP 1013
Course Cost Summary
Upon acceptance into the program and prior to the first class day, the tuition must be paid in full. Payments may be made by check, money order, credit card, cash, or Letter of Intent from a current/prospective employer or other third party (such as South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC), Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitation Services (DARS), Veterans Affairs (VA) and Workforce Solutions Southeast Texas (WSSETX)).
Prospective students whose tuition will be paid by an employer or third party must submit a Letter of Intent from the company/third party prior to the first-class day stating the company/third party will be paying the student's tuition for the course. The employer or third party will be invoiced for $3,800 upon receipt of the Letter of Intent.
*Placement in the class will not be guaranteed until the tuition fee is paid in full. If an employer or third-party partner has agreed to sponsor training and full payment is not received, the student will be responsible for the remaining balance plus any late fees that may apply.
- $3,800- Class A Commercial Truck Driving Program for Fall 2020. Books, software and one attempt at the road test administered by a third-party DPS testing site are included in the cost of tuition.
Each applicant will be personally responsible for paying the following fees to the appropriate parties:
- D.O.T Physical/Drug Screen (Payable to the medical facility you choose): $100-$120 (average) DOT Drug Test must be completed 7 days or less before the 1st day of class.
- 3-Year Driving Record (Payable to Texas DPS): $6.00- $8.00 (average) https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm Students will need to provide a record prior to admittance into the course AND then will need another, dated within 30 days, prior to taking the CDL test, per the TXDOT regulations.
- Class A Driver Permit (Payable to Texas Dept. of Public Safety): $25.00
- Class A CDL (Payable to Texas Depart. of Public Safety): $61.00* The cost depends on the number of years remaining on current license. (OR)
- Class A CDL (Third Party Vendor) $350.00
The Lamar State College Orange Community and Workforce Education Department does not accept financial aid, federal student loans, or payment plans for the $3,800 tuition fee. Full payment is required prior to beginning the program.
There are some agencies in Southeast Texas that may help students with tuition and fees if they meet the agency eligibility requirements. You may contact the following agencies for more information:
Southeast Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC)
Phone: (409) 899-8444 - 2210 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, TX 77703
Contact: Christine Jackson, Case Manager, firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact: Sara Torres-Garcia, Case Manager, email@example.com, Se habla Espanol
Texas Department of Assistive & Rehabilitative Services (DARS)
Phone: (409) 924-7320 - Beaumont: 5550 Eastex Freeway, Suite D, Beaumont, TX 77708
Phone: (409) 963-4700 - Port Arthur: 5860 9Th Avenue, Suite C, Port Arthur, TX 77642
Phone: (409) 839-8045 – Beaumont: 304 Pearl Street, Beaumont, TX 77701-2411
Contact Heather Huknke, Veterans Resource & Referral Specialist, firstname.lastname@example.org
Workforce Solutions Southeast Texas (WSSETX)
Phone: (409) 839-8045 - Beaumont: 510 Park Street Suite 200, Beaumont, TX 77701-2411
Phone: (409) 962-1236 - Port Arthur: 4680 FM 365, Port Arthur, TX 77642
Phone: (409) 882-0302 - Orange: 2415 N 16th Street, Orange, TX 77630
Before you can apply for testing, you need to have, in your possession, your DOT Medical Card from a certified National Registry Medical Examiner. To find a clinic near you see link below: https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUI/home.seam
It is recommended that students obtain a Commercial Learners Permit (CLP) before the (1st) day of class. However, students are required to obtain their CLP no later than the (8th) day of class. If the student does not obtain the CLP by the 8th day of class, the student will be dropped from the course and NO refund will be given. The cost of the CLP is $25.00. You may pick–up a Texas Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Handbook (free of charge) at the DPS to prepare yourself or follow this link to download:
If you fail any exam three times, a new application fee ($25.00) is required for additional attempts.
You will need to take Sections 14, 2, 5 and 6 for the Commercial Learners Permit (CLP). This ensures that you are qualified for the steps required by your Truck Driving instructor.
You are required to pass ALL 4 written tests prior to the issuance of the permit and they MUST be completed in this order:
Test 1 Section 14: Special Requirements for Texas Commercial Motor Vehicles
Test 2 Section 2: General Knowledge (Driving Safely) Recommended to browse entire handbook but questions are mainly chosen from Section 1, 2, 3, 12, and 13.
Test 3 Section 5: Air Brakes
Test 4 Section 6: Combination Vehicles
- Current Texas CDL Learners Permit
- Social Security Card
- DOT Physical Card and Drug Test
- Texas Driver’s Handbook (obtainable at the DPS)
- Texas Class A CDL Driver’s Handbook (obtainable at the DPS)
- Gloves – (optional)
- 6-inch ruler
- Pocket Calculator
- Dual head tire gauge rated at 120# that measures 1 foot in length
- 2- Drivers Daily Log Books (Can be purchased any truck stop)
ANYONE TESTING POSITIVE FOR DRUGS/ALCOHOL WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE CLASS AND WILL NOT RECEIVE A REFUND.