Kickoff for LSCO 50th Anniversary

January 25, 2019

With the help of city, county, and state officials as well as local high school students, Lamar State College Orange kicked off a year of events to celebrate the college's 50th anniversary.

All three LSCO presidents were in attendance, including the first president of the college when it opened in 1969, Dr. Joe Ben Welch; Dr. Michael Shahan who was president for 24 years; and the current president, Dr. Thomas Johnson.

Proclamations came from Orange Mayor Larry Spears, Orange County Judge Dean Crooks, State Representative Dade Phelan, and Congressman Brian Babin, each recognizing the community effort to create the college and the support behind LSCO becoming the economic engine it is today.

The college was proud to have students from four local high schools - Vidor High School, Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School, Bridge City High School, and Orangefield High School - lead the invocation, the pledges, sing the National Anthem, as well as perform.

Lamar State College Orange recognizes that without the community's support, we would not be where we are today, looking forward to continued growth and expansion.

To see all the photos from the event, visit

To read the full history of Lamar State College Orange.

Register as an alumni of LSCO.

Next Steps