OU Login

Honors Program

The Honors Program at Lamar State College-Orange is an optional undergraduate program designed to offer more demanding courses to students who are up for the challenge. Honors classes will offer students opportunities to enhance and hone their critical thinking, teamwork and social responsibility skills. To be designated a graduate of the Honors Program, students will complete at least 12 hours of honors courses, engage in program-sponsored lectures and activities, and participate in an annual honors colloquy designed to illustrate the students' projects.

Requirements:

Students must

  • Be TSI exempt
  • Have a 3.5 overall GPA
  • Complete an application
  • Have two letter of reference from teachers, professors, or counselors

To remain in the LSC-O Honors Program,or to be designated as an Honors Graduate at commencement, a student must maintain a 3.25 GPA overall.

Honors Program Application:

For more information, contact one of the following Honors Committee members:

Dr. Gwen Whitehead
(409) 882-3928
Gwen.Whitehead@lsco.edu

Andy Preslar
(409) 882-3357
Andy.Preslar@lsco.edu

Dr. Matt. McClure
(409) 882-3304
Matt.McClure@lsco.edu

Elias Jureidini
(409) 882-3351
Elias.Jureidini@lsco.edu

Lisette Hodges
(409) 882-3059
Lisette.Hodges@lsco.edu

Melody Antoon
(409) 882-3092
Melody.Antoon@lsco.edu

Jim Ellis
(409) 882-3034
James.Ellis@lsco.edu

Don Thomas
(409) 882-3906
Donald.Thomas@lsco.edu